RSS

UNIT 11: The role of error

08 May

Here we’ll focus on the kinds of mistakes that learners make when they are speaking or writing a second language. There are two main reasons:

  1. Why second language learners make errors? The first reason influence from the learner’s first language (L1) on the second language (L2). This is called Interference or Transfer. Learners may use some factors from their mother tongue to the English.
  2. The second one is because they are unconsciously working out, organizing and experimenting with language they have learned, but this process is incomplete. This kind of error is called developmental error(According to the TKT glossary its meaning is: is an error made by a second language learner which could also be made by a young person learning their mother tongue as part of their normal development, e.g. “I goed there last week” instead of “I went there last week”) Errors like this one are the result of overgeneralisation, applying a rule for one item to another one of the language.

Moreover, we see that there is a third language develops by learners, which is called Interlanguage, this means the learners’ own version of the second language which they speak and learn. Learners are unconsciously process, e.g. analyse and recognize their Interlanguage. It develops and progress as learners learn more. Furthermore, here we see that errors are a natural part of learning; most important we should remember that student’s errors are a precious resource for the teachers, which inform them about the stage of their pupils’ Interlanguage. So, avoid negative marking, where the student simply learns that if he/she makes errors he/she will lose points! But, we also analyse that there are at least three main ways to help learners to develop their language:

  1. Learners need exposure to lots of interesting language at the right level
  2. They need to use language to interact
  3. They need to focus their attention on language forms.

On the other hand, at the beginning of this Unit I found two main words, at least for me, even that in the glossary appears the same meaning for both, the TKT book has a different one, these words are SLIPS and ERROS, Could you find them out on the next activity and its differences?

YOU WILL FIND THE NEXT VOCABULARY ON THE FOLLOW EXERCISE:

OVERGENERALISATION REFORMULATION INTERFERENCE COGNITIVE
SLIPS EXPOSURE FOSSILISED FOSSILASATION
INTERLANGUAGE ERRORS PROMPTS

THE ROLE OF ERROR

(The information was taken from the TKT book)
 
4 Comments

Posted by on 08/05/2012 in UNIT 11

 

4 responses to “UNIT 11: The role of error

  1. mrferchopoliz

    08/05/2012 at 5:06 pm

    Hi Yesy how are you?? I love your blog (for that reason now I am your follower) I think you have a very goog English And I like your style. I consider you are a very hardworker and make your things in the best way. I meanly love your games (hot-potatoes and crosswords) unfortunately I don’t have the anogh time to make that (I only made one last time and I am happy because I got a 85% hehe) but I know in the future I will be able to do that in your blog. You have a big talent (I think you need create a copyrigth because for someone can be easy steal that). You are excellent. I don’t have the pleasure to meet you but I am taking the TKT course with teacher Ellen (in the afternoons). I hope to meet you soon. And one last thing: I think you have a little mistake: is “instead” instead of “inside” in your example, jajaja funny “wordplay”. hehe Be fine, see you later and I wish nothing but the best for you. Byeeeee Take care =)

     
    • yesyhd

      08/05/2012 at 5:15 pm

      Oh! Thank you so much! Yeah, I’m kind in a hurry because I think is a lot of information and I’m worry to fail the exam! However, I was trying to obtain the copyright but the Hot potatoes web site is broken, they are improving it, something like that! I’ll try to do something in a future because this is a good method to study , at least for me! Thanks so much! I’ve already been praised!

       
    • Fernando

      08/05/2012 at 5:19 pm

      good*** English, …… enough*** time, ……… with teacher Ellen too**. (sorry for the typos and misspelling hehe) byeeee

       
  2. Fernando

    08/05/2012 at 5:33 pm

    Don’t be worry about that, you will do it very well. You are an excellent student (I think you are the best Ellen’s student, she always presumed us about you hehe). Don’t worry, trust yourself, you are doing it very fine. Be great =)

     

Leave a Reply

 
