RSS

Being a teacher…such an amazing experience!

05 Jul

Long time ago without writing!!!

One entire year without writing, this was due to my first job as an English teacher!!! I’m really happy because I have finished my first year teaching as better as I could to my little kids in fourth grade.

After I had finished my TKT course, ( well I was almost finishing it) I sent my resume to a college, and after some days I was having my first interview. Then, I was hired!

Oh my God! I remember the first lesson plan that I had to do during my TKT course, it cost me a leg and an arm! I will never forget it, it was so difficult and I spent hours investigating handouts and extra material which I could use with the appropriate topic for each day, I thought I would have to do the same during my job as a Teacher.

However, once I got it I started to feel kind of disappointed. I noticed that sometimes, even though you have the desire to teach your kids as better as possible , the time to cover your curriculum will not be enough!

Besides all the stuff teachers have to cover in a few months.

On the other hand, I had to face a lot of different situations, which most of them were discussed during my TKT course such as working and trying to get along well with your coworkers or trying to make students to show respect and to follow rules in a classroom. How easy was to talk about it, but how hard was to face all of that in a real situation and to deal with it everyday!

fighting

You really need to love your job and get a sack full (not of money) but also of patience.Most of my students were Kinesthetic kids, so I had to start taking vitamins because at 10 am they had already wore me out!  Can you image how I felt?

Most of them were not interested in the English class at the beginning of the course, they were running in the classroom, talking to each other without paying attention to the teacher (who was me), bouncing the soccer ball from one corner of the classroom to the other one,they were writing words or drawing faces on their hands and stomaches with markers, it was a mess! All of that happened during the first classes.

Why students were not interested in their classes? The reason, they were demotivated. Besides, the differenciation that was in my two groups. For that reason, I had to change a lot of times some of my personal aims and lesson plans.

After a period of time I accomplished my goal. I had to push my students to understand me talking during the entire class in English, there was no other way. Furthermore, I had to learn to play and have fun with them, so the warm ups that I used to play with my kids were not just for them, but also for me! It really helped me to get along better with the entire group and to have a special relation with all of them.

 

Even though I had to make a great effort day by day, and keep up with my kids’ energy, I’m really glad of this amazing job. Which are now the results? Do the kids now like the English class? Yes of course. However, my great problem of each day was trying to find a new warm up because they really loved their class for that special moment, each morning they were asking me about the warm up or the content of the day. In addition, they now use much better their English and are able to read and understand much more than at the beginning.

Therefore, the thing that helped me so much to work better with my kids was the LEARNER-CENTRED, this really helped me to make my students to work without the teacher’s attention and pressure. They learned to be more responsible and to get more confidence.

Teachers, please don’t forget to make something fun of your class instead of just boring dictations and teacher-centred!!!! You can really learn a lot of things from your kids.

 
Leave a comment

Posted by on 05/07/2013 in PERSONAL SUBJECTS

 

Leave a Reply

 
